Presentation of the GIS

The CNRS Scientific Interest Group (Groupement d’Intérêt Scientifique, GIS) on the Middle East and the Muslim World (Moyen-Orient et Mondes musulmans, MOMM) was created on 1 January 2013. Its objective is to bring together all French research teams working on this theme, regardless of their discipline (history, geography, political science, sociology, anthropology, history of art, literature, Islamology, philosophy).

The GIS Moyen-Orient et Mondes musulmans (GIS MOMM) focuses in particular on the Middle East and the Maghreb. It also covers the Muslim world which, with its shared history and culture, has spread from its heartland in the Middle East westwards to Morocco and eastwards through Central Asia to India and South-East Asia.

Thus, the GIS Moyen-Orient et Mondes musulmans works in partnership with the Institut d’études de l’Islam et des sociétés du monde musulman (IISMM, Institute for Muslim Studies and Societies) and two other GISs covering similar ‘cultural spaces’: GIS Asia and GIS African Studies.

The recent Arab revolutions and current conflicts and upheavals in the Middle East have demonstrated the importance of bringing together French research centres, which have a long tradition in this field, in order to reinforce existing research and teaching activities and giving a new dynamism to existing, but all too often dispersed, studies. It is now imperative that we step back from our national prism and take a broader approach to the Arab and Muslim worlds: with increasing globalization and the emergence of connected history, research must do more to bring local and global perspectives into a closer relationship. Yet this exceptional accumulation of French research on the Middle East and Muslim world could be seriously undermined by the possibility that research groups will not be continued, together with too many blind spots, neglected themes (Maghreb, Iran, Iraq), underrepresented disciplines (Islamology, philosophy) and difficulties in organizing collective activities.

In order to avoid such a detrimental situation, the GIS Moyen-Orient et Mondes Musulmans has formed a network connecting all the teams and isolated researchers working on the Middle East and the Muslim World in order to encourage the dissemination and visibility of research carried out in a Francophone environment, whether in French universities or abroad, and foster a dynamic policy on documentation and resources (libraries, academic journals, digitalization).

The current situation in the Middle East and the inclusion of Islam in social debates in France offers GIS MOMM an opportunity to become the interface between the academic world, civil society and public authorities.

Jean-Pierre Dalbéra

The objectives of GIS MOMM are:

  • To deconstruct divisions and subdivisions between Maghreb and the Near East and between the Arab, Turkish and Iranian worlds that were inherited from the colonial and post-colonial periods
  • To encourage interdisciplinary research on themes that bring together historians with scholars focusing on the contemporary period
  • To give priority to a multi-disciplinarily approach in human and social sciences (history, philosophy, literature, sociology, anthropology and political science)
  • To foster studies on the history of modern and contemporary Islam
  • To respond to the challenges resulting from today’s upheavals in the Maghreb and the Middle East by encouraging research on civil society, contentious politics and forms of mobilization.

Scientific Interest Group

Présentation du GIS

Le Groupement d’Intérêt Scientifique (GIS) du CNRS « Moyen-Orient et Mondes musulmans » a été créé au 1er janvier 2013. Il a vocation à fédérer l’ensemble des équipes de recherche françaises qui travaillent sur ce champ, dans toutes les disciplines concernées (histoire, géographie, sciences politiques, sociologie, anthropologie, histoire de l’art, littérature, islamologie, philosophie).

Le champ concerné par le GIS s’intéresse en priorité au Moyen-Orient et au Maghreb. Il comprend aussi les « Mondes musulmans » : cette expression se réfère à une histoire et une culture communes, développés autour d’un noyau central, vaste Moyen-Orient qui s’étend du Maroc à l’Inde et à l’Asie du Sud-Est, en passant par l’Asie Centrale.

Dans cette perspective, le GIS Moyen-Orient et Mondes musulmans est partenaire de l’IISMM (Institut d’études de l’Islam et des sociétés du monde musulman) et des autres GIS « aires culturelles » concernés : le GIS Asie et le GIS études africaines.

Les révolutions arabes, les conflits et les bouleversements actuels au Moyen-Orient ont révélé l’urgence pour la recherche française, héritière d’une longue tradition, de renforcer les structures  de formation et de recherche existantes, et de développer des études dynamiques, mais trop souvent dispersées. La nécessité de sortir des prismes nationaux pour aborder, de façon plus ample, l’étude des sociétés des mondes arabes et musulmans s’impose aujourd’hui : à l’heure de l’histoire connectée et de la mondialisation, les recherches doivent articuler davantage le local et le global. Or l’exceptionnelle richesse de la recherche française sur le Moyen-Orient et les mondes musulmans est aujourd’hui menacée : risque de non-renouvellement de l’encadrement de la recherche, angles morts trop nombreux, champs délaissés (Maghreb, Iran, Irak), disciplines trop peu représentées (islamologie, philosophie), difficultés de l’action collective.

La situation actuelle du Moyen-Orient comme l’importante de l’islam dans les débats de société en France font du GIS Moyen-Orient et mondes musulmans l’interlocuteur du monde de la recherche française sur ces questions auprès de la société civile et des pouvoirs publics.

Pour remédier à ces menaces, il convient de mettre en réseau des équipes et des chercheurs souvent isolés, de favoriser la diffusion et la visibilité de la recherche francophone en France et à l’étranger, de maintenir et développer une politique de documentation dynamique (bibliothèques, revues, numérisation).

Jean-Pierre Dalbéra

Les objectifs du GIS sont :

  • Décloisonner les divisions et les subdivisions héritées de l’époque coloniale et post-coloniale, entre Maghreb et Proche-Orient, ou entre monde arabe, monde turc et monde iranien,
  • Encourager une recherche sur des thèmes communs entre historiens et spécialistes du contemporain,
  • Favoriser la pluridisciplinarité, en croisant plusieurs sciences humaines et sociales (histoire, philosophie, littérature, sociologie, anthropologie et politologie),
  • Développer l’étude de l’histoire religieuse pour l’islam moderne et contemporain,
  • Répondre aux défis posés par les bouleversements en cours au Maghreb et au Moyen-Orient en encourageant les recherches sur les formes actuelles de mobilisation et d’expression de la société civile

 

Groupement d'Intérêt Scientifique